• 30 Sep 2013

    Pharmacy School Honors Faculty for Research, Innovation and Service

    OXFORD, Miss. – The School of Pharmacy recently recognized four faculty members for excellence in research, service and instructional innovation during its annual faculty retreat.

    “I am very pleased to present our faculty awards to these outstanding individuals,” said David D. Allen, the school’s dean. “We are so fortunate to have them on the School of Pharmacy’s team. Their work helps make this school the great institution that it is.”

    Dale G. Nagle received the Cumberland Pharmaceuticals Inc. Faculty Research Award for his contributions to natural products research, particularly in the area of antitumor agents. For the past nine years, the pharmacognosy professor has directed a National Institutes of Health-funded study focusing on the discovery and molecular pharmacology of antitumor agents.

    He has also collaborated with the Cancer Institute at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, where he initiated studies aimed at the discovery of new natural products to treat postmenopausal obesity-related breast tumors.

    “I believe that the real honor in receiving the Cumberland research award is that the award gives recognition for the hard work of our dedicated research team,” Nagle said. ”I am very proud of the members of my group, both past and present, and very thankful for the award.”

    David B. Murray, who joined the pharmacy school’s faculty in 2008, received the New Investigator Award for his work on the structural remodeling that occurs in the heart due to stressors such as hypertension or diabetes.

    “The honor in this award is being mentioned alongside some great names by some great people,” Murray said. “I was so pleased and humbled to receive it.”

    Murray, an assistant professor of pharmacology, is exploring the potential use of prostaglandin inhibitors to prevent cardiac remodeling. Because this work has clinical implications for hypertensive patients, he received a four-year New Investigator Award from the American Heart Association earlier this year to continue his research. 

    Read More at Ole Miss News