• 29 Oct 2015

    Vitter named new UM chancellor

    IHL president Alan Perry announced Thursday that the IHL trustees have selected Jeffrey S. Vitter as the new chancellorship at Ole Miss. The university faculty and students got the chance to meet Vitter today during several listening session on the University of Mississippi campus. Vitter served as provost and executive vice chancellor and the Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor at the University of Kansas. His academic home is the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and he is a member of the Information and Telecommunication Technology Center. KU includes the main campus in Lawrence, with 10 colleges and schools, the Edwards Campus in Overland Park and the Medical Center campuses in Kansas City, Wichita and Salina, Kansas. As provost, Vitter is the chief academic and operations officer for the Lawrence and Edwards campuses. Vitter initiated and co-led the campus-wide development of KU’s strategic plan, “Bold Aspirations: The Strategic Plan for the University of Kansas, 2012-2017.” The plan is the university’s transformative road map toward its vision of excellence as a top-tier public international research university. While at KU, he created the first-ever university-wide KU core curriculum; oversaw major facilities improvements and expansion; and led the expansion of the schools of Engineering, Business and Pharmacy. See more at: oxfordeagle.com